Log Cabin Quilt – Literally!

I have always found the names of quilting techniques funny such as log cabin, flying geese and broken dishes so I decided to make something that represented this. In the form of a quilt, I have decided to create a landscape with a log cabin house in the mountains and a goose flying over the house in the sky. So far, I have completed the foundation for the quilt using the sheep on grass fabric for the bottom, mountains for the middle and the clouds for the sky. I have used vliesofix to stick down the mountains to the clouds to make sure I created the silhouette I wanted. This has then been blanket stitched down to hold it in place and to stop the edges from fraying (hopefully!). I am really happy with the way that this has created a sort of 3D effect so far.

The next step is to applique my log cabin down and the flying goose before actually using the quilting technqiues in the border. In the corners, I am hoping to put log cabins while have flying geese borders lining the sides.

Leave a Reply

